copyright gregory crewdson

Photographers I speak to seem to have mixed opinions on Gregory Crewdson, because he works as a director to images with a large team and doesn’t physically take the photograph himself, but he’s alright in my book for two main reasons. 1) He turned up to my tiny group exhibition at the umbrella art gallery, NY, after being randomly invited at a book signing and actually took the time to look at my work! 2) His images are his ideas, his concepts, his vision and more importantly they’re amazing. The sheer scale and complexity of lighting are what draw me to Crewdson’s work, he deals with themes of the unexplained, the extraordinary, the defamiliar. His images leave the viewer questioning whats happened, whats happing and whats going to happen, the mysterious goings on also add a sense of narritive to his work. I would strongly recommend tracking down one of his images on display as a book or computer screen really doesnt do them justice!

copyright gregory crewdson

