A photograph is a snapshot of a moment in time, a fraction of a second, yet they can evoke so many memories and feelings from this frozen moment. As a photographer I am interested in how people  view and interact with personal images and found images, every picture acts as a visual cue for a memory, the tiniest of details unlocking waves of nostalgia and feeling.

For this project I approached family and friends and asked them to show me a photograph that tells a story or means something to them. I then documented this image and asked them to tell me the story behind it while I took their portrait. I also asked them to give me a written account to add extra realism to the images.

These images were then presented together in a triptych in order to show a narrative about the image. First the viewer is presented with the image itself, with the subject deliberately out of frame so that the viewer is not distracted. As they have no idea who the subject is and when or where the image was  taken the viewer could read into the image their own narritive. Next the viewer meets the subject, gaining an insight into the possible narritives of the image that they have been shown, obscuring and enhancing the viewers suspected meanings. Finally the viewer finds out what the image means to the subject and the true narritive of the image is revealed

In this work I wanted to create a transition from found image to memory in three steps.

