Peripheral vision is a project by Canadian photographer Timothy Atherton that looks at the division between the suburbs and urban/ rural environments. Atherton photographs what he calls the ‘generic suburban condition’, which is basically the lack of clear cut division between these environments at a psychological level rather than a topographic difference.

Looking at this body of work, I really like Atherton’s choice of subject matter, his subjects are ordinary almost to the point of being banal, yet the process of being photographed has made them inherently interesting to me. Perhaps its because I as the viewer am given as long as a like to consume an image that would have otherwise been a fleeting moment in real life. This extraordinary normality is something I would like to incluse within my own work.

